Biden Appoints Federal Representative to the Board

President Joe Biden has appointed Jim Powell of Hiawassee, Georgia, as the Federal Representative to the Southern States Energy Board.

Our Federal Representative is appointed by the President as his official liaison to the Board. 

The Honorable Jim Powell will be responsible for providing an annual report to the President on the Board’s programs and activities. In addition, he will serve as an official liaison between the Board, Congress, and all federal agencies. 

He also will assist the Board in its work with the states and territories and in the development of federal energy programs of interest to the southern states. 

“All of us at the Southern States Energy Board thank President Biden for selecting Jim Powell as our federal representative,” said Ken Nemeth, the Board’s secretary and executive director.

“Jim’s extensive experience and work ethic will be essential and critical to our success during the transition period to clean energy and the development of technology innovations to curb environmental pollution,” he said.

Jim previously served as the Federal Representative during the Obama administration from 2013 to 2016. He has also served as a Georgia 9th Congressional District elected Biden delegate to the Democratic National Convention and as a volunteer member of the Biden-Harris Policy Committee.

“I am honored that President Biden has chosen me for this appointment. I look forward to working with the Southern States Energy Board and its member states and territories on energy programs and to advance the President’s Build Back Better initiative,” Powell said.

Currently, Jim is the owner and managing consultant at NORAVA Consulting, a position he has held since 2007. Prior to forming his consulting firm, he served in various capacities at the U.S. Department of Energy from 1986 to 2007. His roles included national program manager, regional director for the Southeast, and associate deputy assistant secretary. Mr. Powell also held several positions with the U.S. Department of the Navy from 1976 to 1986.

Similar Posts