Associate Members

Founded in 1984, the Associate Members Program represents the region’s leading energy and technology providers and contributes invaluable expertise on the economic and social implication of federal and state energy and environmental policies. These activities are integral to providing a balanced and responsible approach to environmental regulation that is economical and efficient.

The Associate Members gather frequently throughout the year to address such issues as federal energy and environmental policy and also have addressed matters including the re-emergence of the nuclear industry, grid modernization, state responses to energy emergencies, energy security, low-income home energy assistance, air quality, carbon management, natural gas supply and infrastructure, water for energy, and state energy and environmental legislation.

2021-2022 Officers

Danny Gray
Green Cement Inc.
Vice Chair
John Eick
Immediate Past Chair
Jennifer Jura
Edison Electric Institute


Ameren Missouri

Rick Eastman
Legislative Representative, Government Relations

American Chemistry Council

Wes Robinson
Senior Director, State Affairs

Rudy Underwood
Senior Director, Government Affairs

American Electric Power

Tony Kavanagh
Senior Vice President, Washington Office

Alicia Cannon
Legislative Representative

American Fuel & Petrochemical Manufacturers

John Eick
Manager, State & Local Outreach

American Gas Association

Dan Lapato
Senior Director of State Affairs

Frank Canavan
State and Legislative Regulatory Analyst

American Petroleum Institute

David McGowan
Southern Region Director

Gifford Briggs
Director of Gulf Coast Region

Eric Hamilton
Associate Director of Gulf Coast Region

America’s Power

Michelle Bloodworth
President and CEO


Morgan O’Brien
Executive Chairman of the Board

Kenneth Boley
Senior Advisor to the Chairman/CEO

BHE Gas Transmission & Storage

Bruce McKay
Senior Director, External Affairs


Hope Freeman
Director, Communication & External Affairs

Bryant Songy Snell Global Partners

Honorable Phil Bryant
Senior Partner

Carbon Utilization Research Council

Shannon Angielski
Executive Director

Chevron U.S.A. Inc.

Felicia Frederick
State Government Affairs Manager

John Walters
Senior State Government Affairs Representative (East Region)

Columbia Southern University

Tony Atchley
Director, Corporate Relations

Cooperative Energy

Chris Rhodes
Director of Public Policy

Dominion Energy

William Murray
Vice President, State and Electric Public Policy

Duke Energy

Chuck Claunch
Vice President, SC-State Government Affairs

Dayna Herrick
Policy Analyst

Edison Electric Institute

Jennifer Jura
Director, External Affairs

Brad Viator
Executive Director, External Affairs

Energy Fairness

Paul Griffin
Executive Director

Energy Institute of Alabama

Honorable Seth Hammett

Blake Hardwich
Executive Director

Energy Policy Network

Randy Eminger
Executive Director


Jeff Copeskey
US Government Relations, Southern Region

FuelCell Energy

Ben Toby
Senior VP, Direct Sales & Customer Service

Green Cement Inc.

Danny Gray
Executive Vice President, Strategy & Business Operations

Koch Companies Public Sector, LLC

George Guidry
State Government Affairs

Allen Richardson
Regional Manager, State Government Affairs

Marathon Petroleum Corporation

Lavelle Edmondson
Manager, State Government Affairs

Liz Bahnsen
Manager, State Government Affairs

Erin Osting
Manager, State Government Affairs

Metallurgical Coal Producers Association

Barbara Altizer
Executive Director, Education & Outreach

ME2C Environmental

Richard MacPherson
President and CEO

Stacey Hyatt
Executive Assistant, Sales Operations

National Mining Association

Rich Nolan
President and Chief Executive Officer

Nuclear Energy Institute

Christine Csizmadia
Director, State Government Affairs & Advocacy

Connor Woodrich
Senior Manager, State and Local Governmental Affairs

NuScale Power

Dominick Claudio
Sales Director


Craig Perry
Manager, Government Affairs, Oklahoma

Mick Urban
Director, Government Affairs


Michael Flannigan
Senior Vice President, Global Government Affairs

Ruth Demeter
Director, Federal Government Relations

Phillips 66

Dave Cagnolatti
Manager, State Government Relations, TX/Gulf Coast Region

SEFA Group

Jimmy Knowles
Vice President, Environmental and Government Relations

Shell Oil Company

Fred Palmer
Manager, Government Relations

South Carolina Public Service Authority/
Santee Cooper

Pamela Williams
Senior Vice President, Corporate Services

Southern Company

Tom Park
External Affairs Coordinator

George Bullock

Tennessee Valley Authority

Justin Maierhofer
Vice President, Operations

Bevin Taylor
Director, Washington, D.C. Office

Bert Robinson
Director, District, State & Local Government Relations

Texas A&M

Mukul R. Bhatia, Ph.D.
Executive Professor and Dan A. Hughes ‘51 Chair
Director of the Berg-Hughes Center for Petroleum & Sedimentary Systems

Troutman Pepper

William M. Droze

Virginia Center for Coal & Energy Research

Dr. Nino Ripepi
Associate Professor

West Virginia University

James Wood
Director, WVU Energy Institute
Director, U.S.-China Clean Energy Research Center (Advanced Coal Technology Consortium)

Program Benefits

Part of SSEB’s annual meeting of governors and legislators is devoted to Associate Members. Associates receive invitations to other SSEB conferences, seminars and workshops held throughout the year on energy and environmental quality topics and participate on Board committees, coalitions and task forces. Each Associate Member receives all SSEB publications, including the Annual Report, Legislative Digest, topical reports, issue briefs, and other items produced by the SSEB staff.


Any organization with an interest in energy and environmental affairs and a desire to pursue its concerns in a collective forum is eligible for membership. Participants may include corporations, trade and industry associations, universities and other commercial and nonprofit organizations.